The Light in the Dark

Part of this country is on fire. Part of this country is drowning. Hurricane Irma is likely to hit Florida soon, while Texas is still recovering from Hurricane Harvey. Other locations in the world are experiencing devastation and loss from nature and, unfortunately, from the actions of other human beings.

But there are still positives to be found.

I’ve seen countless pictures of people–good people–carrying family members, friends, and strangers to safety. I’ve seen them saving animals, from pets to the more wild species. I’ve read encouraging words and witnessed the opportunities others have had to serve those in need.

Do I wish the world didn’t experience such pain and suffering? I do. But am I glad that people can show their love and light by how they respond to tragedy? Absolutely.

We can’t always stop the bad from happening. But we can spread the light when it does.

I’m praying and hoping for those whose lives have been/will be impacted by storms, earthquakes, and fire. And I hope that we, me especially, can look out for opportunities to create light in the dark.

Be safe. Be aware. Be hopeful. Be kind.

Leave a comment